A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.

A New Interview with Jinjer Stanton on Wellness Renaissance

I was surprised by how engaged I was even though I’d been there for the live show. That was not something I’d experienced before. I also hope you’ll comment on her podcasts. Feedback helps so much! . . . → Read More: A New Interview with Jinjer Stanton on Wellness Renaissance

The Final Four — Limbs of Yoga

These final four limbs are a road map toward union with the divine, but each of these limbs alone provides benefits and practicing them can provide the benefits of meditation. . . . → Read More: The Final Four — Limbs of Yoga

What Get’s Us Into Yoga: Asana & Pranayama

These are the two limbs of yoga that the West attributes the most value to. They tend to forget that in yogic tradition spiritual study leads to the physical and study of the physical side leads to the spiritual!


We in the West tend to practice the asanas, or postures/exercises for purely physical . . . → Read More: What Get’s Us Into Yoga: Asana & Pranayama

Isvara Pranidhana: Letting Go

The fifth and final niyama is Isvara Pranidhana (surrender to God). I’ve seen it translated “dedication to God” or dedicating one’s actions to God. That letting go of outcomes is one of the tougher disciplines. . . . → Read More: Isvara Pranidhana: Letting Go

Svadhyaya: Niyama of Scholars

Svadhyaya, which means ‘study,’ has both inner and outer components. It means both self-study and self-education. In yoga tradition it is taken to mean study of God and the study of God within the individual. Many assume this indicates a very narrow scope of study.

I think that since this body and this personality are . . . → Read More: Svadhyaya: Niyama of Scholars

Tapas: the Niyama for the New Year

Tapas means dedication to what feeds our souls (yoga or music, nature or cooking) on a par with work, paying taxes or getting the kids to soccer practice. It also means a dedication to achieving our goals in life—including the goals we set for ourselves at the beginning of a new year. . . . → Read More: Tapas: the Niyama for the New Year

Santosa: A Holiday Niyama

This time of year carries a lot of stress for many people. The cultivation of santosa can help us handle both the crazy times and the alone times. . . . → Read More: Santosa: A Holiday Niyama

Saucha: Clean Body, Clean Spirit

Niyamas are behaviors and ways of being in the world (virtues) that are valuable to cultivate within ourselves. There are five of them just as there are five yamas. The first niyama is:

Saucha (purity of the body) combines the poses and breathing exercises of hatha yoga with dietary practices and keeping the body . . . → Read More: Saucha: Clean Body, Clean Spirit

Aparigraha: The Heart of Thanksgiving

Aparigraha (“You shall not hoard” or “You shall not covet”). Thanksgiving is all about non-hoarding. It is the time for sharing abundance and taking care of each other. The time for celebrating all that the universe has provided.

Hoarding (could also be called coveting what one doesn’t need) shows poverty of spirit and indicates . . . → Read More: Aparigraha: The Heart of Thanksgiving

Brahmacharya: A Balanced Life

Brahmacharya is difficult to translate into Western terms. It literally means “under the tutelage of Brahma.” Brahmacharya refers to celibacy, religious study and self-restraint. It resembles expected behavior of monks and nuns in Christian monasteries. Yet, in Indian society, many people who practice brahmacharya are married with children, because without knowledge of human love one . . . → Read More: Brahmacharya: A Balanced Life